Happy Lunar New Year

Happy Lunar New Year! It’s the year of the Rooster~
Looks like it’s going to be a good autumn for Tigers like me!

Traditionally, during Lunar New Year, my  large family would gather together for a feast. Often, we would sit together on the ground and grill meat and seafood; then we have the option to eat the grilled meat with vermicelli noodles or in wraps with rice papers and veggies.

Bánh tét and bánh chưng (sticky rice cakes with meat) would also be served. The adults would give red envelopes containing money for kids. The little kids would wear their áo dài (Vietnamese traditional dress) or something red to bring in the good luck.

461885_373072556064872_1944863199_o

This year marks my first year not at home celebrating with my family. No more walking through doors to bring good luck. No more red envelopes. No more delicious Vietnamese tét food. No more tét family gatherings.  I’ll definitely throw a feast for myself when I get a kitchen next year, but for now, I’m back to writing essays!

Do you celebrate Lunar New Year? If so, do you have any traditions?

One thought on “Happy Lunar New Year

Leave a Reply

