Drama Review: My Amazing Boyfriend

My Amazing Boyfriend

Eps: 28

This Chinese drama is inspired by the Korean drama, My Love from Another Star. The theme is similar but the story line is completely different.

Xue Ling Qiao (Kim Tae Hwan) was once a human being, but has mutated into a man with superpowers. He is about 500 years old, but has been put under a deep sleep for the past 100 years. His body, found to be carefully preserved, is accidentally awaken by Tian Jing Zhi’s (Wu Qian) car accident. Returning the favor, Xue Ling Qiao heals Tian Jing Zhi, a B rated actress striving to become A+. As a result, the two form a strong bond, sharing the same roof and heartbeat. As they continue to quarrel, they slowly warmed up to each other while finding the person who put Xue Ling Qiao to sleep in the first place.

If you are looking for a more innocent drama, this one is for you! The naïve-ness of the characters are overdone, making the drama very cute and hilarious. I love the theme song and ending OSTs. They portray a light nostalgic feeling. There were more episodes than I expected!

The story line, at times, was very predictable while being surprising at other times. Overall, I think that the storyline is unique. I definitely have seen similar dramas in genre, but none similar in story line. The development is a bit slow, but that is the style an innocent type of drama would give.

Tian Jing Zhi’s character was very bright and comical. Xue Ling Qiao, however, seemed too cold. He didn’t express his character’s emotion as well. Perhaps being alive for 500 years will cost you your emotions, but even when he opened his heart, he showed very little expression. I really enjoyed the close relationships all the characters had with each other. I loved the bromance that was present. I was amazed that the ex-boyfriends got along and cared for each other. I also loved how strong the friendship of the two female leads was. Feng Dong Dong, Jing Zhi’s assistant, also has a bright personality. His actions and responses always make me laugh!

I love this drama! I would rank this drama a 9.5/10. The ending was surprising and satisfying!

Leave a Reply

